OESD Celebrates Five “Schools of Distinction”


South Kitsap Schools of Distinction.

Five schools within the Olympic ESD 114 region have received the “School of Distinction” award for student achievement. They were recognized for steady improvement on test scores for standardized state exams in reading and math over the past five years.

These schools represent the top 5% of improvement of all schools statewide and notably demonstrate that students attending schools with diverse populations in towns of all sizes with varying economic levels can achieve success. 

Schools receiving the honor were Neah Bay Elementary of the Cape Flattery School District; Greywolf Elementary of the Sequim School District; and three schools from the South Kitsap School District: Burley Glenwood Elementary, Orchard Heights Elementary and Sidney Glen Elementary.

Neah Bay Elementary - the WHOLE student body!

Neah Bay Elementary with 161 students is located in Clallam County near the Straits of Juan DeFuca on the Makah reservation. Last year more than 90% of Neah Bay fourth grade students met or exceeded state academic standards.

“All of our staff here at NBES have the compassion, drive and dedication to help our students be the best they can,” said Principal Alice Murner. “In addition, we are very fortunate to have excellent community and parent support.”

Within the South Kitsap School District, three elementary schools out of the 99 schools from across the state were recognized for their improvement in reading and mathematics. 

“We are thrilled that (our) schools have received the School of Distinction award. Their continuous improvement and hard work are impressive,” stated SK Superintendent Michelle Reid.

OESD Superintendent Greg Lynch visited each school to present the award to staff.

Annually, this award is sponsored by The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE), the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), and Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA).

Posted in