Extraordinary Community Leadership Honored at this year’s WASA Region 114 Awards – 2023 Highlights

On Monday, April 24, 2023, Region 114 of the Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA) held its first annual Regional Awards dinner since 2019. 

Dinner hosts Dr. Aaron Leavell, Olympic ESD Superintendent, Martin Brewer, WASA Region 114 President, and over 115 attendees recognized and celebrated community volunteers, WASA members retiring in the region and/or celebrating 20 years of service to education.  Community Leadership Awards were presented by each district superintendent to individuals or groups in their community who have devoted their time and talents to support our schools. Their efforts have had a significant impact on education in our region and are greatly appreciated.  Inspiring stories were shared. 

Below is a list of this year’s honorees:

Community Leadership Honorees:

  • Bainbridge Island School District honored Gina Corpuz
  • Bremerton School District honored Sue Ann Miglino
  • Brinnon School District honored Roz Roberts and Bob McDaniel
  • Cape Flattery School District honored Alice Murner (retiring)
  • Central Kitsap School District honored Jewel Shepherd-Sampson
  • North Kitsap School District honored ShareNet (Jerry and Sandy Ulsund) and Kingston Cares (Jane Mack)
  • North Mason School District honored Mateo Antonio Santiago and Kitsap Immigration Assistance Center
  • Port Angeles School District honored North Olympic Healthcare Network and Lower Elwha Klallam Tribe
  • Port Townsend School District honored Skillmation (Ben Bauermeister and Martha Trolin)
  • Sequim School District honored Sequim Lions Club
  • South Kitsap School District honored South Kitsap Helpline

Student Leadership Honorees:

  • Chimacum School District honored Reid Martin and Connor Paterson
  • North Kitsap School District honored Julia Beatty and Vaipaia Woo-Ching

WASA 20-Year Awards were presented to those who are current WASA members and have served as an administrator for 20 years in public school districts.  

  • Peter Bang-Knudsen, Bainbridge
  • Lori Buijten, North Kitsap
  • Lisa Roberts, North Mason
  • Dana Rosenbach, North Mason

WASA Retirement Award was presented to Lisa Roberts, North Mason School District