Return to Headlines

2020 Regional Teacher of the Year Honored Plus Port Angeles School District Celebrated a State Recognized School!

Surrounded by staff and students, (center) 2020 Regional Teacher of the Year Kathryn Lebuis-Hartman holding plaque & flowers Lots to celebrate at the September 12, 2019, Port Angeles School Board Meeting, where OESD Superintendent Greg Lynch honored Roosevelt Elementary Teacher, Kathryn Lebuis Hartman, as the 2020 Olympic ESD Regional Teacher of the Year and recognized Jefferson Elementary as a State Recognized School.

As written by one of Kathryn’s Teacher of the Year nominees, “Kathryn’s passion for teaching and learning is evident not only in her work with students, but she herself is a life-long learner.  She is continuously attending classes to improve her skills and knowledge in the area of technology, STEM, and behavior.  When she comes back to school, she is excited and willing to share her learning with our entire staff.  The staff love to participate in her learning times as she is such an engaging and effective presenter.  She understands the needs of teachers and wants to give them the tools they need to help ALL students be successful.” 

In addition to teaching intermediate elementary students at Roosevelt Elementary in Port Angeles, Kathryn facilitates the Positive Behavior Intervention System (PBIS) at Roosevelt, coaches Math Olympiad, and participates in many other areas as a teacher-leader and as a student mentor. 

The Olympic ESD Region is proud to honor Kathryn as its 2020 Regional Teacher of the Year! 

Read more about Kathryn at the link below:

Details about the entire Washington Teacher of the Year process can be found here:

Pictured above: PASD School Board Mtg. Sept. 12, 2019 – Surrounded by staff and students, (center) 2020 Regional Teacher of the Year Kathryn Lebuis-Hartman (holding plaque and flowers), OESD Superintendent – Greg Lynch to her right.

To continue the celebration in Port Angeles, Jefferson Elementary staff and school district leaders displayed their banner as OESD Superintendent focused accolades on the achievement of being a Washington State Recognized School in 2017-2018. 

Read more about the new State School Recognition system here:

 Photo with PA School Board and Superintendent holding Banner 2017-18 WA State Recognized School  

Pictured here: PASD School Board Mtg. Sept. 12, 2019 – (from left) Jefferson Principal – Joyce Mininger, Superintendent – Martin Brewer, Assistant Superintendent Chuck Lisk, OESD Superintendent – Greg Lynch, Board Vice President – Bill Kindler, Jefferson Staff - Victoria Rockholt, Jefferson Staff - Coya Erickson, Board President – Sandy Long, Board Director – Dr. Joshua Jones, Board Director – Sarah Methner