OESD Celebrates Schools of Distinction

Neah Bay

During the 2014-2015 school year, OESD Superintendent Greg Lynch presented five schools within the Olympic ESD 114 region with special “School of Distinction” awards for student achievement in 2014.  Each of  these schools were recognized for steady improvement on standardized state exam scores in reading and math over the past five years.

Statewide, these schools represented the top 5% for improvement and have notably demonstrated that students attending schools with diverse populations in towns of all sizes with varying economic levels have achieved success. 

Congratulations to:

  • Neah Bay Elementary (Cape Flattery School District)
  • Greywolf Elementary (Sequim School District)
  • Burley Glenwood Elementary (South Kitsap School District)
  • Sidney Glen Elementary (South Kitsap School District)
  • Quilcene High School and Elementary School (Quilcene School District)

Annually, this award is sponsored by The Center for Educational Effectiveness (CEE), the Association of Educational Service Districts (AESD), the Association of Washington School Principals (AWSP), Washington Association of School Administrators (WASA), and Washington State School Directors’ Association (WSSDA). 

Greywolf Elementary

Greywolf ElementaryPrincipal Donna Hudson, OESD Superintendent Greg Lynch, and students of Greywolf Elementary School.Photo courtesy of Darcy Lamb 

Neah Bay

Neah Bay ElementaryCape Flattery School District Superintendent Kandy Ritter, OESD Board Member Shirley Johnson, OESD Superintendent Greg Lynch, and Neah Bay Principal Alice Murner. Photo Courtesy of Jody Sanders 

Quilcene Schools of Distinction 2014

Quilcene High and Elementary SchoolPhoto Courtesy of Port Townsend & Jefferson County Leader
Quilcene School District students, staff and board members gathered on Feb. 18 to accept a School of Distinction Award for increased reading and math achievement. Pictured are (from left, front row) Paul Huwyler, ASB vice president; Hannah Williams, ASB assistant treasurer; Allison Jones, ASB secretary; Gary Stebbins, principal; award presenter Greg Lynch, Olympic Educational School District superintendent; (back row) QSD school board members Katie Rancich and Heather Sanders; OESD board chair Donn Ring; QSD Superintendent Wally Lis; QSD board chair Gena Lont; and QSD board members Gary Rae, Shona Davis and Greg Brotherton. Photo by Viviann Kuehl for Port Townsend & Jefferson County Leader

Posted in