2013 WASA Region 114 Awards Presented

WASA Awards Dinner 2013 016

2013 WASA Region 114 Awards

Olympic ESD hosted the 2013 WASA Region 114 Awards Dinner and Ceremony at Anthony’s in Bremerton on April 23, 2013.  Throughout its history, WASA has been involved in honoring and recognizing outstanding educational administrators and those individuals in other professions who have made extraordinary contributions to K–12 education.

The association annually presents five awards at the Regional level:  the Award of Merit, Student Achievement Leadership, Community Leadership, Twenty-Year, and Retirement Awards.

Kurt Wagner Memorial Award of Meritpeterson1  David Peterson, Superintendent of North Mason School DistrictThe Award of Merit award is for those who have demonstrated effective leadership at the regional level and have made a significant contribution to WASA through his/her work in the field of education in Washington.  At Region 114, we have named this award (unofficially) the Kurt Wagner Memorial Award of Merit, after Kurt Wagner, who was awarded this honor in 2012 posthumously.This year, the recipient is David Peterson,  superintendent of North Mason School District.   Mr. Peterson’s contribution to Washington State’s new Teacher Principal Evaluation Project (TPEP) has been extraordinary.  As the superintendent in one of the original TPEP pilot districts, his early involvement and thoughtful implementation of this new system has been of great value to many WASA members.  The North Mason School District’s TPEP Implementation Plan and Draft MOU language documents, both developed by David Peterson, have been shared and used as templates across the State of Washington.  In addition, his willingness to share his learning with WASA colleagues at regional and state events has been greatly appreciated. Mr. Peterson was not able to attend the ceremony.  Stephanie Parker, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching & Learning at Olympic ESD, accepted on his behalf. 
WASA Student Achievement Leadership Awardreid  Dr. Michelle Reid (left) with Dr. Jane Pryne, Superintendent of Port Angeles School District.The WASA Student Achievement Leadership Award is presented to selected WASA members who have provided leadership for the implementation of an innovation that has resulted in measurable growth in student achievement.This year’s honoree is Dr. Michelle Reid, Deputy Associate Superintendent of Port Angeles School District.  Dr.  Reid, works tirelessly on behalf of all students and staff of PASD.  This work has resulted in increased achievement for all K-12 students throughout the district.  Under her leadership, the curriculum is aligned kindergarten through grade ten in reading, math, science and writing, common core has been implemented, and all assignments are examined thoroughly to strengthen instructional practices.  Not only did our students “best” the State average in 22 or 23 performance areas, they have sustained these achievements over time, and this is a direct result of Dr. Reid’s relentless pursuit of academic excellence for all.
Twenty-Year Award The Twenty-Year Award is granted to any school administrator who has served as an administrator for twenty years in public school districts.  The recipient must have been a member of WASA for ten years. This year, we honored two administrators with Twenty-Year Awards. 
peterson David Peterson, Superintendent of North Mason School District.  Mr. Peterson has been a member of WASA since 1989. Mr. Peterson was not able to attend the ceremony, so Stephanie Parker, Assistant Superintendent of Teaching & Learning at Olympic ESD accepted on his behalf.bigby  Dr. Walt Bigby, Superintendent at Olympic ESD 114, was also presented with a Twenty Year Award.  Dr. Bigby has been a member of WASA since 1977.  Here, Dr. Bigby (left) receives the certificate and lapel pin honoring his service from Dr. Flip Herndon, Region 114 President, and Superintendent of Bremerton School District. 
Retirement AwardWalt  Dr. Bigby (left) receiving the pen honoring his service to education.Dr. Walt Bigby also received a Retirement Award from WASA.  Dr. Bigby has been a member of WASA since 1977 and is retiring this year after 13 years at the Olympic ESD, where he has served as Superintendent.  Dr. Bigby has served in education for 43 years. 

 Community Leadership Award The Community Leadership Award is presented to community members or groups in recognition of their outstanding contributions toward education.  Recipients are non-WASA members.  Specific criteria includes: benefit to students, leadership, motivation, success, cooperation/coordination with local districts, recognition by others, and history of service. Region 114 is proud to honor five such individuals this year. 
Community Leadership Award cucciardi  Shawn Cucciardi (second from right) accepting Student Achievement Award from South Kitsap School District Superintendent Bev Cheney. Shawn Cucciardi, South Kitsap School District Shawn Cucciardi is a parent, business owners and community leader in South Kitsap.  Given all of his business and community service activities, Shawn is a very busy man.  Nevertheless, when the South Kitsap School Supporters sought out Shawn Cucciardi to lead the campaign efforts for the South Kitsap Support levy on February 12, he willingly rose to the task.  Shawn provided leadership to the South Kitsap School Supporters by being its spokesman, facilitating weekly meetings from November through February, and utilizing technology to bring the campaign into the 21st Century.  Thanks to Shawn’s leadership, the levy passed by 57%! 
Community Leadership Awardsteven  Wendy Steven, parent and advocate for education at Bremerton School DistrictWendy Stevens, Bremerton School District Ms. Wendy Stevens is a parent that engaged the Bremerton School Districts a few years ago when her daughter was preparing to enter kindergarten.  She engaged staff and other parents before moving to the area where she picked the Navel Avenue Spanish Immersion program. She quickly became a cheerleader for public education and the programs in the Bremerton School District.  With the respect of parents and PTA community and by volunteering in the schools and participating in enrollment fairs talking with parents about her experiences with district, she was seen as a leader and parent advocate.  She was later asked to Chair the Citizens for Good Schools Committee and participated extensively on the passage of the Capital Projects levy. We are honored to recognize Ms. Wendy Stevens for the Community Leadership Award. 
Community Leadership Awardhokanson  Julietta Hokanson (left) receives the Community Leadership Award from Mr. Greg Lynch, Superintendent at Central Kitsap School District.Julietta Hokanson, Central Kitsap School District Volunteers are vital to the success of our schools, and Julietta Hokanson is the epitome of a cherished and outstanding volunteer.  Over the years, she has selflessly devoted her time, energy, enthusiasm and support to meeting whatever need arises, from her involvement at her kids’ schools to her work with the CKPTSA Council.  She has also been instrumental in the success of our citizens’ levy committee.  We are truly grateful for the countless hours Julietta serves on behalf of our students and are proud to congratulate her for this well-deserved award. 
Community Leadership Awardhoover  Hal and Helen Hoover, career supporters of education at North Kitsap School District.Hal and Helen Hoover, North Kitsap School District Hal Hoover was an administrator at North Kitsap School District, and Helen a teacher.  Helen also served on the school board.  Since their retirement, they have continued to be strong school supporters as well as volunteers.  Currently, both volunteer at Wolfle Elementary as mentors and reading coaches.  Their commitment to the children of our community spans decades. 
Posted in